[Abbenay] hacker news
Ove Ridé
nitro2k01 at gmail.com
Wed Jan 13 06:37:00 CST 2010
2010/1/13 Ged Wed <gedw99 at gmail.com>:
> Hey,
>
> Some serious corporate hacking has been revealed by Google today.
>
> http://www.thomascrampton.com/china/baidu-tw-google/
>
> Try it. http://www.baidu.tw/ is pointing to Google search engine. Thast very
> strange.
> The DNS has been repointed in the last few days.
> This is super weird, especially when you consider the bombshell that Google
> dropped about China and the hacking of 30 companies that has been going on.
> Read the this below that came out today.
>
> http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/news/2010/01/furious-google-throws-down-gauntlet-to-china-over-censorship.ars
> Me thinks the two incidents might be related ..
I did a little research...
Whois: http://who.is/whois/baidu.tw/
...shows the owner as some "xiaodo xiaodo" (Sounds like a fake name,
doesn't it?) The domain is registered with a free e-mail service
(21cn.com) This whois service also shows a thumbnail of the page,
which doesn't look anything like Baidu.
Furthermore: Wikipedia says that Baidu are serving China and Japan,
but no mention of Taiwan.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baidu
Perhaps the owner of baidu.tw was inspired by recent events and
redirected the domain, but I think the notion that Google was somehow
behind it is a myth busted.
--
/Ove
-----BEGIN 2ROT13 MESSAGE-----
Blog: <http://blog.gg8.se/>
SKRIVA på Lysator. Ditt Ahrvid-fria alternativ:
<http://lists.lysator.liu.se/mailman/listinfo/korkek?SKRIVA?>
Sätt på ett par flipflops, vippa på rumpan
och gör det här till en minnesvärd sommar!
-----END 2ROT13 MESSAGE-----
More information about the Abbenay
mailing list